2018 State Central Committee Election

We elected 8 candidates to represent the 4th District on the State Central Committee at the 2018 District Convention. They will serve a 2 year term.

The four men elected were Chris Peterson, Doug Neys, Jeremy Dumkrieger, and Jon Klein.

The four women elected were Amanda Malaski, Emma Schmit, Landra Reece, and Penny Rosfjord.

Please reach out to them if you have any comments or concerns about the 4th District Democratic Party!

2018 District Convention

Join us for the 2018 District Convention on April 28th!

We will be meeting at:

Iowa Central Community Collehe

Bioscience & Health Science Auditorium

1 Triton Circle

Fort Dodge, Iowa

Registration will open at 8 AM.

At the District Convention we will elect 4 males and 4 females to represent the 4th District on the Iowa Democratic Party State Central Committee, the governing body of the Iowa Democratic Party. We will also debate and pass the 4th District Platform. We will select members to serve on the Arrangements, Credentials, Rules and Platform Committees at the State Convention on June 16th in Des Moines.

Hope to see you there!

Iowa Democrats Vote In Raft Of Younger Leaders (from Iowastartingline.com)

(Left to Right) Eadon(Chair), Phillips (1st Vice Chair) , Pope (2nd Vice Chair), and Owens (3rd Vice Chair).

(Left to Right) Eadon(Chair), Phillips (1st Vice Chair) , Pope (2nd Vice Chair), and Owens (3rd Vice Chair).


January 21st, 2017

Iowa Democrats will move forward after the 2016 election disaster with a lot of younger, diverse and fresh faces heading up their efforts. At the party’s State Central Committee meeting on Saturday, voting members selected younger leaders for the top four slots of party chair and the vice chairs.

Derek Eadon, 33, was voted in as chair. Andrea Phillips, 42, won the 1st Vice Chair spot, which is also a DNC voting member. Jordan Pope, 19, beat out a state representative to become 2nd Vice Chair. And June Owens, 45, became the 3rd Vice Chair.

Jean Pardee, who has served on the SCC for several decades, said she couldn’t remember the last time the party had a team this young. She first joined the SCC at age 21 – in 1972.

Eadon promised Democrats a new approach in his bid for chair, making the case that the party needed a new way of thinking and should be opening and inclusive for all voters. Through his past work for Barack Obama’s campaign and NextGen Climate Action, Eadon has worked extensively in turning out young voters.

For many activists who have long been worried about the depth of Iowa Democrats’ bench and how few young elected officials we have, today’s elections should be an encouraging change

by Pat Rynard
Posted 1/21/17

Cherokee County Democrats Meet and Greet

What: Cherokee County Democrats Meet and Greet

When: Sunday, April 24 at 2 p.m.

Where: Yacht Club at Spring Lake Park in Cherokee. 

More Info: The event will feature local candidates as well as US Congressional candidate Kim Weaver and US Senate candidate Tom Fiegen.  Other Senate campaigns may be represented  as well. 

All are welcome to attend.

Beth Winterhof/ Brian Gerjets

Cherokee County Co-Chairs

District 4 Convention Call Book (Deadline Past)

We are again offering advertising space in the Call to Convention book.

  • Space is available at $25 for a half page ad or $40 for a full page ad for those wishing to run for National Delegate or State Central Committee positions.   
  • District and State Candidates for this election cycle are welcome to advertise as well. 
  • The ads need to be to Teresa.e.wolff@gmail.com no later than April 8. 
  • Page size is 8.5 x 11. 

Any further information needed please contact Teresa Wolff 712-251-6418

The Call will be online for printing and available for print only by request for those without internet access.